“Al Ahly did not steal the coronation, we lacked audacity”

“Al Ahly did not steal the coronation, we lacked audacity”

The coach of Wydad de Casablanca, Sven Vandenbroeck, said that the Al Ahly team deserved to be crowned African champions after their draw (1-1) on Sunday evening in the final return of the League of champions, at the Mohammed V sports complex.

“Al Ahly did not steal the crown, but we lacked the audacity to create scoring opportunities,” said the Belgian coach during the press conference given after the final.

“We started the game well, but we were too stressed, especially in the second half. I had already said that the final will be played on small details. And she decided on two set pieces, ”he commented.

According to him, the meeting was very “balanced”, ensuring that he had nothing to reproach the players for.

“A defeat weighs heavily, especially with the injuries and the mind. We will play this Wednesday in Botola Pro D1. Admittedly, we don’t have time to put everyone mentally, but we will start tomorrow our work to achieve our next objectives, “he said.

For his part, the coach of Al Ahly, Marcel Koller, said he was “very happy” to win this trophy. “We expected a very competitive game. I told the players that to win the trophy, you have to score in Casablanca. We are happy to have achieved our goal,” he said.

“We tried to defend in the first half. After the equaliser, we had the opportunity to add to the score in the last fifteen minutes, but we failed to score,” he added.

Al-Ahly of Cairo, winner in the first leg by 2 goals to 1, won the CAF Champions League, after their draw (1-1) against Wydad of Casablanca, defending champion, in the final second leg.

The Reds opened the scoring in the 28th minute thanks to Yahya Attiat Allah, while the Egyptians equalized through Mohamed Abdelmoumen (78th).

It was the third meeting between WAC and Al-Ahly in the Champions League final after the 2017 and 2022 editions.

Wydad de Casablanca was looking to win its second consecutive crown and the 4th in its history, after its titles in 1992, at the expense of Al Hilal of Sudan, and 2017 and 2022 against Al-Ahly. The Egyptians of Al-Ahly won their eleventh trophy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here